Updated March 13, 2025
SEO forecasting can significantly benefit your business by helping you set realistic expectations for rankings and conversions, share strategies and budgets with your management and clients, and detect areas for improvement. This article breaks down the top SEO forecasting methods that can help you achieve optimal results.
Are you not getting enough traffic to your website? Has the bounce rate on your website increased? Do you think your competitors are stealing traffic from your website?
Check your SEO efforts to see if your website is experiencing any problems. Every SEO strategy has an expiration date, and as search engines periodically change their algorithms and policies, it’s crucial to have fresh strategies. If your website is not producing excellent results, it may have an outdated SEO strategy.
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Thorough SEO forecasting is crucial to producing a good SEO plan.
If you’re unfamiliar with it, SEO forecasting includes studying historical data to estimate future SEO results. The historical data can include parameters such as search volume, traffic, CTR, etc.
SEO forecasting can help you develop a personalized effective strategy.
Do you know that 68% of online experiences begin with search engines? Therefore, if your SEO performance is good, your likelihood of reaching potential users and providing good expertise rises.
SEO forecasting involves analyzing past and current data to predict a website's future performance. Two types of data are used to forecast SEO performance.
The first-party historical data includes data about your website’s performance. The first-party data includes parameters such as:
You can use tools like Google Analytics Tool and Google Search Console to collect first-party data.
Third-party historical data includes data related to your competitors. You can access this data via third-party tools. The following are the third-party data parameters necessary for a practical SEO forecast:
Effective SEO forecasting helps project feasible goals. Thus, you can adjust your efforts and resources accordingly.
Before diving into the comprehensive SEO forecasting process, here are some key insights to mind:
Keep in mind that SEO forecasting is never completely accurate. As there are several dynamic factors, such as search engine algorithms and competitor’s strategies, and it is impossible to forecast SEO growth precisely. But, with the help of previous data, recent trends, and powerful tools, you can make a calculated and informed guess.
According to George Rosenbaum, the Founder of Rosenbaum & Rosenbaum, “There is a big difference between planning for a completely new project, like deciding whether to create and improve a new website in a specific area, and using predictive strategies for a project that already exists. The first option will not have any historical data for your forecasts, while the second option will provide multiple data sources and metrics for a more accurate forecast.”
Now, let’s move on to the SEO forecasting process:
The first way to forecast SEO for your website is to analyze keyword search volume and CTR. That will give you an estimate of traffic, leads, and conversions.
However, it will depend on your website's targeted keywords and the ones you want to rank for. A more refined forecast will also include analyzing keywords for every page of your website, as each one has different goals.
Here’s how to do it:
First, filter out all the keywords for which your websites already rank and the ones for which you want to rank. You can list them using Google Search Console and Google Analytics.
Once you have a well-filtered list of keywords, select the target keywords based on your current goals and check their search volumes. Third-party tools like SE Ranking and SEMrush can be used here.
To do this, you have to learn about the CTR of the website and use the formula:
Estimated monthly traffic = total keyword search volume * average CTR
You can check the Google Analytics Acquisition reports for the average CTR. That will help you determine how many users will land on your website.
For example, one of your target pages has a focus keyword like WordPress gamification, and the page has a search volume of about 5000 and is currently ranked 10th. You want to rank it eighth. According to historical data, the average CTR of that position is 1%.
The estimated monthly traffic will be 5000*1% = 50 monthly visits.
Historical data can help forecast future SEO performance. However, some factors can affect the forecast, such as additional search engine updates, a competitor’s strategy, the period of the forecast, etc.
If there have been no changes in the search engine algorithm and competitor’s strategy, historical data can help you estimate the future performance parameters with around 80% probability.
These parameters include impressions, clicks, CTR (click-through rate), bounce rate, conversion rate, and average position. Google Search Console and Google Analytics provide this data in raw form. However, to gain insights, it needs to be cleaned and formatted.
It's worth nothing that some businesses use linear regression and other statistical models to forecast SEO performance.
The statistical forecasting method is helpful for people who prefer to see data from different viewpoints rather than just reading data points and making guesses.
In business, competitors can be your friends as they can teach you how to grow. With a comprehensive analysis of your competitors, you can learn several things, such as
Traffic forecast metrics include competitors who jumped to the top 10, new keywords that began ranking in the top 30, and new pages that have started ranking in the top 30.
You can refine your backlink strategies, content preferences, targeted keywords, and website pages for maximum SEO performance based on these factors. Tools like SE Ranking or Ahref can help you gather more data on your competitors and compare your future performance with theirs.
Predicting a website’s performance cannot be 100% accurate.
It can vary due to several dynamic factors. However, you can make an informed guess based on carefully analyzing historical data, competitor strategy, and algorithm changes. Other factors strengthening your decision are rank tracking, consumer insights, and analytics.
Businesses can use Python libraries like Pandas, TensorFlow, and PyTorch to ensure higher accuracy. These libraries can help find patterns in heaps of data to predict future traffic and performance more accurately.
SEO tools are perfect partners when developing a new strategy or updating an existing one. Here are several tools that can assist in SEO forecasting:
Note: Implementing a no-change forecast will give you an idea of how the website will perform if the SEO strategy is unchanged. This strategy can be used to set a baseline for future SEO projections.
Businesses that provide products and services should be aware of seasonal trends. For example, your competitors might offer customers hefty discounts during certain occasions, such as Halloween, Thanksgiving, Black Friday, and Christmas.
That can increase the search volume of certain specific keywords, which can, in turn, cause your website's traffic to soar proportionally. Therefore, factor in seasonal trends when forecasting your SEO growth.
Google Trends can help you spot upcoming trends. Here are some quick tips for predicting seasonal trends:
Ignoring seasonal trends can lead to inaccurate predictions of your site's performance. Recognizing these factors is essential to creating a better basis for your forecast.
Core updates can significantly affect your SEO performance, either negatively or positively. Now, it's up to you to decide how to handle them.
The golden rule to forecast ups and downs is to consider, study, and apply all the search engine core updates. Besides, you can follow these tips:
Download the complete historical data from the organic search overview chart to make accurate predictions. If you want to use less data, you can edit the downloaded .csv files or choose data for a specific time frame, like one year. This method helps you work with more straightforward datasets while providing valuable insights for your SEO forecasts.
Now that you have a solid understanding of forecasting SEO traffic, the next crucial step is implementing actions that effectively leverage this data. Sometimes, your forecast can guide your SEO strategy directly. You can identify which tasks to prioritize, optimize your content, and focus on the best keywords to attract traffic.
“Sometimes, the data shows you need more resources to achieve your SEO goals. If this happens, you should prepare a strong case for requesting a larger budget,” said Mark Anderson, the Founder of Anderson Injury Lawyers. “Use your forecast to highlight potential results and benefits of investing more in SEO, such as creating more content, improving on-page optimization, or using helpful tools. Presenting this information clearly can help you secure the funding you need.”
SEO forecasting is not a sure thing. Your forecast may not be 100% accurate, and multiple factors affect SEO performance, making perfect results impossible.
However, aligning your growth strategies with search engine algorithms, competitors' strategies, and historical data can help close in on the near-perfect results. If your competitor makes additional investments, the growth trajectory can shift drastically. Hence, you can follow as they do. The key is updating your strategies based on recent trends for effective SEO forecasting.