Reviews

Field Sales App that Integrates with MS Dynamics NAV

 
Mobile App Development
 
$10,000 to $49,999
 
Nov. 2016 - Ongoing
Project summary: 

ArtyGeek created and is enhancing an app that integrates with Dynamics NAV, giving a sales team customer insights in the field.

Feedback summary: 

While their English skills could generally be improved, the team has a very strong technical and business understanding of what is required to make the partnership a success. The cost advantages have surpassed expectations without sacrificing quality.

"Their ability to transform business processes into technical solutions is good."

Information Systems Analyst, Danaeg
 
Food & Beverage
 
201-500 Employees
 
Haderslev, Denmark
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
4.5/5
Cost: 
5/5
Willing to refer: 
4.5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

We're a Danish egg production company that has four factories in Sweden and Denmark and we bought a share in a Finnish company so we actually have activities in five production facilities. We have about 500 employees.

My responsibility is all of the systems between the manufacturing machines, all the internal processes, and the users. This primarily revolves around our ERP system, [Microsoft] Dynamics NAVision, and all the apps we create along with all the utilities that integrate data from abroad into our internal systems. It's a fluid role because it has to do with business processes, systems, and people.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with ArtyGeek?

We were looking for someone to help us with app development. We're in the egg industry and not many software solutions exist in our market because it's a small, niche industry. There are some vendors, but they're small and have no competition but they would need to advance their solutions to be really good. Right now, the offerings are only okay. So we were looking for a partner who could create solutions that will improve our business by making solutions that don't otherwise exist.

How did you come to work with ArtyGeek?

I know a partner in the company because I worked with him 8 or 9 years ago. I asked if he could a simple app for me to begin with and then we added more and more functions and then we integrated with our ERP system and so on. It's not an app you can buy, it's only for our internal use. Now we're going to develop more apps because the first app was presented to the ownership board and the board was very eager to develop more apps.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

We have a lot of field sales people, so the primary purpose of the app is to provide them with an integrated method of displaying all the stores in their respective sales districts on Google Maps. It integrates with the customer data in our ERP. They have a very quick way to view which stores they've visited in the last however many days and which stores they need to visit. It's very easy to see on our map graphics. For each store they go in to, they can see through the ERP integration which products have been sold to that store and what sales opportunities exist. The sales team can easily re-order products, selecting various products and quantities, and it's all sent back to the ERP in an automated fashion so we can batch big orders.

It's very easy to use and it's an offline solution, too, so when a sales person loses 3G/4G connection because there somewhere in say Sweden without coverage, the app will store the order request and then send it as soon as an internet connection is re-established.

How much have you invested with them?

We first started working with ArtyGeek in November last year. Our budget for the whole project is 1 million dollars and we plan to spend $80,000-$90,000 of that with Arty Geek. The total budget is so large because we're going replace all of our current systems. We divided the scope into very small projects so far have only spent less than $10,000 with Arty Geek. We're planning to build four or five apps with them.

What is the status of this engagement?

I'm working with ArtyGeek now for that reason. I've been in their offices again recently because I have a philosophy that when you start up a new project, it's very good to sit together for a few days face to face to discuss everything. We'll discuss 80% of the project then I'll go home and we'll continue via e-mail and Skype.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

How did ArtyGeek perform from a project management standpoint?

They've performed very well in terms of project management. We've been working using Agile methods. They understand the business very well.

What did you find most impressive about them?

The understanding between us and their understanding of how to speak in business terms is impressive. Their ability to transform business processes into technical solutions is good. Another thing they're good at is questioning why we want to do something instead of just doing it. From that process, they're able to make better suggestions on how to do something.

It's essential that they have a very high technical understanding, but also a good understanding of our business. They came in not knowing anything about the egg industry but they've come to understand our business very well even though it's different and complicated.

Are there any areas they could improve?

One thing they could improve is their English, though so could I. If they want to expand broadly, they don't need perfect English but it can always be improved. They have some people that are really good. Secondly, they could create a communication channel with customers - some kind of tool - where they set a scope and report progress against that and the budget instead of having a dialogue about it all the time.

OVERALL SCORE: 5
QUALITY: 5
We haven't had any problems or errors so we've been pleasantly surprised.
COST: 5
It's amazing what they can do given the cost. It's high quality, too. In Denmark, we would have paid 4 times as much.
SCHEDULING: 4.5
They're online almost all of the time.
WILLING TO REFER: 4.5
It depends on the type of customer. As a customer, you'll have to communicate with people you're not accustomed to necessarily.
Niels Bolding

Web UI Designs for Software Admin Panels

 
Web design
 
Less than $10,000
 
Apr. - Jul. 2017
Project summary: 

ArtyGeek was hired for a pilot project to develop a simple UI prototype. They provided frontend development of web dashboards.

Feedback summary: 

Demonstrating experience working on this type of project, the ArtyGeek team developed and provided good quality code. Together with great project management and timely delivery, they provided good value to this company, though their UX left something to be desired.

“The code quality was good as was the project management.”

Fmr. Product Manager, Juniper Networks
 
Communications
 
1,001-10,000 Employees
 
Gurgaon Haryana, India
 
Verified
Average: 4.5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
4/5
Schedule: 
4.5/5
Cost: 
4.5/5
Willing to refer: 
4.5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

​At the time of working with ArtyGeek, I was a part of Juniper Networks. I was an engineering manager for the software-defined networking product.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

ArtyGeek was hired to develop a simple UI prototype for our company. The mockups were intended for all our web dashboards. We had no plans of involving them on the networking side.

How did you come to work with ArtyGeek?

We found ArtyGeek on Upwork and looked at their portfolio. I generally liked their design, which was the main purpose of hiring them. We realized that a full visual design would take a lot of time, so we started with a simple admin team, which was more generic and easier to get going. We gave ArtyGeek a small pilot project and, after a period, I realized that they were doing a good job. We added more members to the team, and ArtyGeek continued the project for 3–4 months.

How much have you invested with ArtyGeek?

I have moved on to a new position so I don’t have access to this information. I believe that the cost was between $8,000 and $10,000.

What is the status of this engagement?

The collaboration lasted for a few months. The contract ended in July 2017.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

The code quality is good. We haven’t required a lot of iterations after the initial review. I see ArtyGeek as a good frontend development team overall, at least the members who worked with us.

They performed well, but it was only a quick pilot project. I moved on before it ended, so I can’t mention any metrics. The work was delivered this month, and it may or may not be used, so it’s very difficult to comment.

How did ArtyGeek perform from a project management standpoint?

I liked working with their team. They are disciplined and deliver things on time. ArtyGeek has been working on this type of project for quite some time, and they have developed skills through which they can quickly get to a requirement and make sure it gets delivered on time.

One of the best parts of the engagement was project management. ArtyGeek is a good team for frontend development but, when it comes to visual design and creating a user experience, I didn’t get a chance to work with the right people.

What did you find most impressive about ArtyGeek?

The code quality was good, as was the project management. I have been working with teams and individual contractors for quite some time, and have preferred the latter. My experience with ArtyGeek was very good and, following it, I have started to consider working with other small design agencies.

Are there any areas ArtyGeek could improve?

I found them to be weaker on the UX and visual design side. There is a lot of room for improvement here. This was the original reason for hiring ArtyGeek, but we couldn’t spend so much time on the project. I wasn’t very confident that they could deliver the kinds of results we were looking for in a short span of time. Their overall portfolio is very good, though, and I can only speak for the designer we worked with.

OVERALL SCORE: 4.5
QUALITY: 4
There was a bit of a gap between what we looked at in ArtyGeek’s portfolio and what they produced.
COST: 4.5
They had good value for money compared to my other projects.
SCHEDULING: 4.5
We had weekly calls and ArtyGeek delivered every task we assigned on time.
WILLING TO REFER: 4.5

HTML5-Based Piano Instruction Animation Tool

 
Web Development
 
$10,000 to $49,999
 
Oct. 2015 - Mar. 2017
Project summary: 

Arty Geek created a complex piano-playing animation tool in HTML5, allowing seamless functionality across browser types through the integration of music notation, media, and XML files. 

Feedback summary: 

The completed product supports up to 5,000 daily users, thanks to Arty Geek’s stable development work. The team contributed significant amounts of exploratory research and the work product is high quality.

"I only have good things to say about them."

Founder, Negina
 
Internet
 
1-10 Employees
 
Israel
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
5/5
Cost: 
5/5
Willing to refer: 
5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

I’m the CEO of Negina, which provides online music lessons for the Israeli and German markets.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

I needed help with creating an HTML JavaScript tool involving animation of a piano based on XML files. In 2015, this project was quite innovative based on what Arty Geek did with HTML5.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

We needed to create a tool that works within a browser—on Chrome, Firefox, Mozilla, Safari, etc.—that can play a lot of music notes simultaneously with no gaps or no noticeable delays and without using Flash. Back then, we used Flash, but browsers stopped supporting that, and we needed to move to HTML5. Most companies we approached didn’t even want to dive into it because there weren’t many libraries of Open Source resources that we could use to create it. Arty Geek had to do extensive exploration. They were positive they could do it. Most other companies said it was too early to create this tool in HTML5. Arty Geek went through a month or so of exploration at their expense just to prove to me that they could do it. They created a very simple prototype that actually did what I wanted, then they moved on to creating the entire tool, which was quite complex.

The piano tool actually shows you how to play a specific tune. Let’s say you want to play Hey Jude by The Beatles. You see a piano in front of you, and when you press play, you can see which keys are being depressed. You can make the playback slow or fast, and you can show the name of the note on the keys. You can isolate the right or left hand if you want. You can see the actual notes on the screen while the song is being played, so it’s actually learning by imitation.

The tool is designed for people who don’t know how to play piano and don’t want to go through the struggle of learning notation, which takes years. We offer that as well, but it’s not a key focus. [In comparison,] [t]here are tons of YouTube videos that show you how to play songs. The backend is quite complex because it has to combine a lot of different files, including XML files, media files, and music notation files that need to be synced within the browser and not in a native app, which is very easy to do because it would rely on the power of the device.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

I work with freelancers from all over the world. I have family in Ukraine in the same city where Arty Geek is located. On a family vacation, I had some business meetings with local companies and tried to find partners for this project. I chose Arty Geek because they were so sure they could create the tool. I also looked at their reviews on Upwork, which were fantastic.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

We have spent around $50,000.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working with them in October of 2015, and the project was completed in March of 2017. We’re still in touch.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or impact of the engagement?

The product is used by 4,000–5,000 people every day, and it’s very stable and works as it should. Before this, we had a Flash tool that didn’t work on mobile devices. Obviously, once we implanted this new tool in our website, we saw growth as mobile users became potential clients. We had an increase of about 70% in revenue because of this.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

I only have good things to say about them. The starting phase was exploratory because they wanted to verify for themselves and show me that they could build the tool. After that, they gave me estimations about each phase. They broke down the project into several phases so that we could measure the achievements, and I paid them according to that structure. I didn’t have a strict timeline for them because the work was quite innovative and it’s hard to tell how much time it would take to solve an issue that nobody else has before.

I was very happy with the way they reported their progress. They’re very easy to reach, and they answer questions. They were also very communicative about asking for help. After working with a lot of freelancers and companies around the world, I find that people often just do what they think is best and send over something completely different than what was described.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

They stay up-to-date with new technology, and it’s quite unique. Their employees are constantly learning new technologies like Angular. For my project, that was crucial. They also have great communication skills, which I didn’t expect when outsourcing to another country. Arty Geek always listens, and they provided a contact person so that I didn’t have to speak with the entire division.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

We’ve finished what we defined, and now we have a long set of corrections and things to change because of my inaccurate specifications. I don’t think they’re fit to do little projects. If I need another 10 hours of working on the tool, they may not be the best option. So, I continue to develop the product in-house. I would like to do the final touches with them, but they’re focused more on larger-scope projects. I could wait until I have enough changes to offer them a project. Maintenance over time is not cost-effective for them if there are limited hours per month. That’s something that could be improved.

OVERALL SCORE: 5
They’re fantastic. When I have another large-scope project, they’ll be my first call.
QUALITY: 5
The product is completely free of bugs and very stable, which is important because we charge users for it.
COST: 5
In Israel or Germany, I would’ve paid a lot more.
SCHEDULING: 5
They were available and always on time. They did what they promised.
WILLING TO REFER: 5
I’ve already referred them to several clients, and they were happy as well.

User Experience & Web Design for E-book Publisher

 
Web Development
 
$10,000 to $49,999
 
2015 - Ongoing
Project summary: 

Arty Geek is a reliable partner for digital media design. The team creates visual assets for projects ranging from microsites to interactive e-books. They also assist with website development.

Feedback summary: 

Arty Geek’s visual style is appealing and engaging, and the quality of their work continues to improve over time. The team is willing to adjust to a significant time difference. Arty Geek excels at project management and communication. There is room for improvement in their billing process but it is acceptable.

“Arty Geek’s visual design is eye-catching, both for illustrations and web design.”

Sr. Manager, Healthcare Media Firm
 
Publishing
 
51-200 Employees
 
Chicago, Illinois
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
5/5
Cost: 
5/5
Willing to refer: 
5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

Our company focuses on publication and editorial work, with the goal of transforming health through information technology. We work with IT and healthcare partners for this purpose. I am the senior manager of products and user experience design.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

We required help with digital media and user experience.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

They’ve helped us with website design and development. Our first project was an interactive microsite with endless scrolling. Most recently, they helped us with an interactive e-book series. For a high engagement experience, the e-book content was exposed by clicking on different areas.

Arty Geek has used HTML, CSS, and JavaScript for our projects. They’ve also used a product called Tumult Hype for our interactive e-books. Throughout the design process, they have been using the Adobe Dreamweaver suite.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

A coworker had worked with them and recommended them. I reached out to Arty Geek. They were a right fit, price-wise, so I gave them our first contract. They did a great job, so we kept working with them.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

The cost of their work has been $10,000–$50,000 in total.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working with Arty Geek around 3 years ago.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

Arty Geek has done a great job. They have created 11 e-books for us, which will definitely have measurable goals tied to them. We will gather data on this later on.

Clients love Arty Geek’s work. Arty Geek’s visual design is eye-catching, both for illustrations and web design. The quality of their work continues to improve. The more clients they have, the better they will become.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

Our contact on their end has been a superhero. He has kept tasks in line, hit deadlines, and adjusted when they could not be hit. This happened because we were not giving them content in time, so I wouldn’t put it on Arty Geek.

We have a standard setup for communication. Their team puts together a project outline and send an invoice based on that. There could be some improvement in this regard, but it’s acceptable.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

Project management and communication are 2 things they do well. Whenever there was a question, Arty Geek didn’t hesitate to reach out. They’ve been very responsive. Despite the 9-hour time difference, they work based on our schedule.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

Arty Geek could improve the invoicing process, which is an operations item. I have no complaints about their design and development output.

OVERALL SCORE: 5
They’re a great team. It was a learning experience for everyone. We’re all better off as a result of it.
QUALITY: 5
The quality of their work keeps getting better.
COST: 5
For the cost, the value we receive is extraordinary.
SCHEDULING: 5
Arty Geek has always been available, despite the significant time difference with our office. They’re present during our workday for questions and clarifications.
WILLING TO REFER: 5
I would definitely recommend Arty Geek to another company. They’re responsive, and they get the work done. As long as we can provide the proper directions up front, they will run with it.

E-commerce Redesign Boosts Conversions for Automotive Shop

 
Web Development
 
Less than $10,000
 
May 2015 - Dec. 2016
Project summary: 

Arty Geek helped design an e-commerce website with a large catalog, a custom framework, and various plug-ins. They assisted with mockups, UI and then continued to help with some redesigns of individual pages.

Feedback summary: 

Arty Geek has the knowledge to face complex technical projects. They’re responsive to requests, and flexible and scalable when it comes to a shift in project scope or changing needs. Their communication mid-project could be improved, in order to avoid misunderstandings, but they take feedback well.

"They’ve been very responsive in addressing issues. They delivered on time with the expected quality."

Lead Engineer, Oscaro
 
E-commerce
 
51-250 Employees
 
San Jose, California
 
Verified
Average: 4.5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
4/5
Schedule: 
5/5
Cost: 
4/5
Willing to refer: 
5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

Oscaro is a leading multinational automotive online retailer with more than $300 million in revenue worldwide. Our mission is to empower the DIY community both online and offline, and our culture is to do it with a friendly attitude. We combine over a million OE Quality parts from premium parts manufacturers with exceptional customer service.

I’m the lead engineer.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

We needed someone to help us with our web design. Our website wasn’t what we wanted for the US market. It wasn’t as sleek and responsive as our competitors’ websites. We wanted to increase our conversion rate.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

We did some mockups and started working with Arty Geek on the first one. We realized it wasn’t what we were looking for, so we did a second mockup which was much closer to our objectives. The interface was very easy to use and it was a clean website. We use third-party plug-ins for specific features of the website. The framework is custom and has specific features for the auto industry. That makes the site more complex. The site can easily break just by changing the layout if you don’t pay attention. We have hundreds of thousands of products on the site.

Since we were happy with their work, we did a second project in 2016. That was a redesign of two pages on the website, including the product page which is one of the most important pages of our website. They also enhanced the brand page.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

We found them through Upwork. They sent a quote and we hired them. Arty Geek was a good option because they had multiple resources to help on the project. It’s easier to get professional quality when you’re dealing with a company instead of an individual.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

We have spent between $5,000 and $7,000.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working with them in 2015. The first project was done in five weeks. The second project was completed in December 2016.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

We are happy with their work. When we did the redesign, the first objective was not so much to increase the traffic. It was more to increase the conversion rate. The conversion rate has improved by 20%. Some pages are converting more than others. Visitors are coming back to the website even on mobile. Before the redesign, the site wouldn’t work on tablets and smartphones. Consequently, we’ve been able to extend our audience, which is also driving the conversion rate.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

They’ve been very responsive in addressing issues. They delivered on time with the expected quality.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

Their main strength is that they’re able to face any technical challenge. They gave us a quote for the website design and then realized it was more complex than they first thought. People working on the project were flexible and their communication was good. They are able to think about the project and add more resources if needed.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

They could communicate more. When they delivered the product, it was almost perfect. But on the technical side, they made some choices that was not the optimal way to do it. Since they didn’t share their technical interpretation with me, it wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for. They were good at taking my feedback and made some iterations.

OVERALL SCORE: 4.5
QUALITY: 4
I want them to continue to improve on the design and also, on the technical side, make sure it’s what the customer wants. Shortcuts make it easier and it works, but in the long run, it’s more difficult to maintain, change and understand.
COST: 4
They’re a Ukrainian company so it’s not the same cost as other countries. It’s much more expensive than any other agency we’ve worked with, but the quality is very good.
SCHEDULING: 5
They were on time. Any delays were our fault.
WILLING TO REFER: 5
I would recommend them to anyone who is interested in doing a redesign. They are flexible with the code and they addressed all the projects. They’re a great partner.
Jonathan Chachoua

Android Development & Out-Staffed iOS Resource

 
Mobile App Development
 
$10,000 to $49,999
 
Sept. 2016 - Ongoing
Project summary: 

Arty Geek works on a subcontracted basis providing development expertise. So far, they’ve been involved in two projects; one is a native iOS game, and the other is an Android cryptocurrency exchange app.

Feedback summary: 

Arty Geek delivers satisfactory results and end customers have been pleased so far. Their staff is responsive, adaptive, and fixes bugs quickly without billing extra. While they could increase their UI/UX expertise, they get the job done without requiring micromanagement.

"I’ve been overall satisfied with Arty Geek over both of our projects."

CEO, 8Allocate
 
Software Development
 
51-200 Employees
 
Kiev, Ukraine
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
4.5/5
Cost: 
4.5/5
Willing to refer: 
4.5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

I am a co-founder and CEO of a company that provides software development services similar to those of Arty Geek.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

We have worked with them on a subcontracting basis for two projects. One of them was an Android cryptocurrency solution, and the other was the outsourcing of an iOS game app.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

Our first project was for an end-to-end solution for an XDR wallet. It was a blockchain platform for peer-to-peer exchanges of cryptocurrency. It was written in Ruby on Rails by our team, but we needed to develop an Android application with backend integration, which was done by Arty Geek. They also developed and supported a native iOS game on behalf of a German client.

Our own product owner was in charge of the Scrum and delivery process. We have used one or two iOS and Android developers and a project manager from Arty Geek’s side. We paid them on a time-and-materials basis.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

We found them through a recommendation from someone on the Ukrainian market around 1½ years ago.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

The cost of Arty Geek’s work has been around $30,000 so far. The cost of one software developer is $3,700 per month.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working with Arty Geek in September 2016. We continue to use their iOS development services for a project which was started in November. The contract has been extended until June 2017.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

I am not aware of details of the Android project around quality assurance, acceptance, and delivery, but I know that the final customer was satisfied. There were some bugs, but Arty Geek fixed them and only billed us for project management — not the QA and the bug-fixing process itself.

I’ve been overall satisfied with Arty Geek over both of our projects. I would definitely work with Arty Geek again.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

Their account and project managers are very responsive. They provided hour-by-hour estimates in the beginning, which were completely accurate. However, we had a strange situation with invoicing at one point.

For the second project, we worked with the client directly for project management, task setting, and briefings. Arty Geek handled HR details, invoicing, and so on. They worked on a dedicated, outsourced team model.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

There are many firms that feel the need to ping the client each day and ask questions just to be visible. Arty Geek hasn’t done this; they only appear when it’s really needed. They ask questions and do the work. It’s a self-guided process which doesn’t require micromanagement on our part.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

We tried to involve them in one more project, but couldn’t do so because of the level of UI/UX expertise on Arty Geek’s end. The product owner was not satisfied with the look of their applications, but that was just the opinion of one person.

OVERALL SCORE: 5
QUALITY: 5
My clients and I are satisfied with how the application works. Everything has been deployed on time.
COST: 4.5
I wouldn’t say that they’re expensive compared to other players who provide the same services and quality on the international market. There are cheaper options, but Arty Geek is okay in terms of price/quality.
SCHEDULING: 4.5
We didn’t book the iOS developer for the full 6 months, but rather prolonged their contract month by month. This led to 1-week decision periods from Arty Geek’s side, and we didn’t know if we should find a replacement or not. Everything else was on time.
WILLING TO REFER: 4.5
Vladimir Potapenko

White-Labeled Website Design for Django Programmer

 
Web design
 
Less than $10,000
 
Dec. 2014 - Ongoing
Project summary: 

Arty Geek provides attractive web designs and conducts site builds in CSS and HTML, creating streamlined layouts that function across all browsers and mobile devices. 

Feedback summary: 

Arty Geek’s engaging designs now support multiple monetized websites. The team’s high-quality deliverables a good overall value contribute to a productive partnership. 

"Their designs were really good."

Freelancer, Web Services Firm
 
IT Services
 
Sole Proprietor
 
Warsaw, Poland
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
4.5/5
Cost: 
4.5/5
Willing to refer: 
5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

I’m the founder of a company that buys and sells domain names. I also build websites that I can monetize in some way.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

I needed a website design for a new project. I was looking for a nice layout and skin.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

I was talking with the head of Arty Geek, and I showed him the design I had. He told me that the design I had was bad and that he could make it better. In 2 or 3 days, he came back with a design that was better than what I had. Then, they also did a site build. He proposed a mockup of the design for free. I was not looking for programming because they didn’t have the type of programmers I needed. Arty Geek just did design work for me and made the site build in CSS and HTML. They have to showcase it on their own server to make sure it works in all browsers. We’ve built multiple projects together, involving mobile-responsive sites. I was using Django and still am, but Arty Geek doesn’t have developers for that. I was striving to get designs that are simple and easy to use. The sites are content-based, travel-related, or graphic design-related for downloading free graphic files.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

I found them on Elance.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

I’ve spent a few thousand dollars with them over the course of our relationship.

What is the status of this engagement?

I started working with them in December of 2014, and the work is ongoing. We are currently working on a project that allows journalists to publish content daily. 

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

Their designs were really good. I was already doing designs but decided to work with them after seeing their skills.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

It’s been a long time since I’ve worked with them on a daily basis, so I don’t remember precise details. I’m sure they’re completely different now. 

OVERALL SCORE: 5
QUALITY: 5
COST: 4.5
It was quite good.
SCHEDULING: 4.5
WILLING TO REFER: 5
I recommend them all the time.
Daniel Hoffman

UI Mockups and Graphics for Social App

 
UI/UX Design
 
Less than $10,000
 
May 2016 - Aug. 2016
Project summary: 

Arty Geek led graphics and user interface design for a social app, based on provided maps and guidelines, and worked in tandem with a programmer and internal management team.

Feedback summary: 

Arty Geek has their own creative style and valuable input. Through their understanding of the larger vision, they’re able to provide a fresh perspective and communicate it well. While they seem to be juggling jobs, it doesn’t hinder their flexibility, quality, or professionalism.

"I appreciated the creative input and effort given by Arty Geek."

Founder, BrightBeam Solutions
 
Social Media
 
1-10 Employees
 
Oslo, Norway
 
Verified
Average: 4 (1 vote)
Quality: 
4.5/5
Schedule: 
4/5
Cost: 
3.5/5
Willing to refer: 
4.5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

BrightBeam Solutions is an app and web development company based in Norway. We love innovative projects, and are working on an in-house app called WishCatcher, which will launch soon. Apart from this, we have local and international clients for both website and app development. I am the founder of the company.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

I was looking for help developing the graphics for an app which we’d just finished building. It’s a project we’ve invested quite a bit into, and we have a clear vision for it. I was in contact with a few graphic designers which didn’t satisfy our needs, so I was looking for someone new, and found Arty Geek.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

We are building a social app based around catching and sharing wishes with friends and family.

I’ve tried to keep Arty Geek on a strict timeline, since we had a tight deadline, and needed the graphics for the programmer. We were a bit overschedule for our 20+ screens. Arty Geek worked on all the graphics and user-interface design for our app. We had a UI already mapped-out, which I gave them as a starting point.

Arty Geek commented that they had some coding experience, but that service was not needed. They did have a good understanding in this area, which helped in the communication with our programmer.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

We were looking for a group which had its own style and input, and which would provide a fresh feel for our app’s graphics. I found Arty Geek through Upwork, and eventually decided to choose them. The communication was good, and I quickly felt that Arty Geek understood us and our requirements. They seemed flexible, professional and fairly reasonable, which fit the profile of what we were looking for.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

The cost of Arty Geek was over $4,000.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working with Arty Geek in May 2016. We worked over the summer, and the final delivery was in early September.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

We’re starting a beta test with a larger group today. We ran into some trouble with the programmer and had to find a new one, so we’re just now finishing the app and testing it in-house. We plan to have an official launch in the summer of 2017.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

Arty Geek was quite responsive and fast. We went slightly over our timeline on a few occasions, but there was nothing major, and it was understandable considering the circumstance. I had the feeling of not being Arty Geek’s highest-priority client at times, but, most of the time, we had very good service and communication.

From our first contact, Arty Geek was able to start the work immediately. We worked out the details and agreed on different parameters. Responsiveness was pretty good, always on the same day.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

I appreciated the creative input and effort given by Arty Geek. They tried several different aesthetics before we chose the final one, and I also asked for some extra work towards the end of the project. It was in Arty Geek’s interest as well, of course, but they delivered it well, without it having been discussed in the beginning. I also asked Arty Geek for a custom animation, for which I’m not sure if they had prior experience, but they delivered it well.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

The work was a bit overpriced, but this could be due to my lack of experience. It’s my only qualm regarding Arty Geek.

OVERALL SCORE: 4
QUALITY: 4.5
I was quite satisfied with what was delivered.
COST: 3.5
I’m very satisfied with the results, but I felt that Arty Geek was a bit overpriced. I also don’t have extensive experience in hiring graphic designers.
SCHEDULING: 4
Responsiveness was great most of the time, almost instant.
WILLING TO REFER: 4.5
Arty Geek’s owner is a professional and talented young man. The company reflects that, so I would definitely recommend them to someone else. The overall experience was good, and the deliverable was quality.
Robert Rothe

UX Design for Java Web App

 
UI/UX Design
 
Less than $10,000
 
2016
Project summary: 

Arty Geek developed a front-end design and improved UX for a sports event management website through continuous integration software.

Feedback summary: 

The project team collaboratively approached the design process, incorporated existing Java tools, and readily adapted to the target product environment. After launching the updated website, Arty Geek is involved in discussions about a possible mobile app.

"They worked to improve our business, rather than just implementing what is written in our request."

Co-founder, Psyball
 
IT Services
 
2-10 Employees
 
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
5/5
Cost: 
4/5
Willing to refer: 
5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

I’m a co-founder of a startup called Psyball. We do event management for various sports.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

We needed frontend development work done on our website, which matches individuals with sports teams that need players. There are also features for event organizers to open events.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

They did design and UX [user experience] work. We already had the concept for our user interface when we engaged Arty Geek. They came in with a collaborative approach and gave us suggestions to make it better. They did mockups in the beginning and provided their expertise to improve the UX. They used our continuous integration tools and adapted to our environment. It’s a pure Java application.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

I looked at different profiles on oDesk, including theirs. I made a short list and reviewed their references, then chose Arty Geek.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

I’ve spent $2,000–$3,000.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working together at the beginning of 2016. The project is complete, but we’re considering engaging them again for a mobile application.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

They adapted to our way of working, which is kind of exceptional. I don’t have any metrics to share.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

I had one contact person who coordinated communication with their team. If she didn’t have an answer to my question, she forwarded it to the correct person. Although she wasn’t a high-end, professional project manager, the process was quite acceptable. She was always accessible and willing to help.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

They worked to improve our business, rather than just implementing what is written in our request. They are experts in user experience.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

The project management can be improved to be more professional.

OVERALL SCORE: 5
QUALITY: 5
I was impressed with their work, especially compared to other firms on oDesk I’ve dealt with before.
COST: 4
They’re not the cheapest, but the value is good.
SCHEDULING: 5
WILLING TO REFER: 5

Web Development for Drum Lesson Site

 
Web Development
 
Less than $10,000
 
2016 - Ongoing
Project summary: 

Arty Geek developed an online drum lesson platform for a startup based on responsive WordPress designs. The team conducts ongoing site maintenance.

Feedback summary: 

Cost-effective innovation and a no-boundaries design approach ensured the team’s maximum creativity in hitting every objective. The updated website showcases many of the flexible tech solutions that set Arty Geek apart.

"Arty Geek's approach gave me peace of mind."

Co-founder, Online Drum Lesson Service
 
Entertainment
 
2-10 Employees
 
Israel
 
Verified
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Quality: 
5/5
Schedule: 
5/5
Cost: 
5/5
Willing to refer: 
5/5
BACKGROUND: 

Introduce your business and what you do there.

We provide an online drum lessons platform. I am a co-owner of the business.

OPPORTUNITY / CHALLENGE: 

What challenge were you trying to address with Arty Geek?

I had been searching for a company which could help my partner and I make our dream come true. We needed a system which could work for our audience and needed assistance on the development side, which is where we got together with Arty Geek.

SOLUTION: 

What was the scope of their involvement?

I provided designs to Arty Geek for our responsive WordPress website, and they developed it. The site has 10–15 pages, some of which are constantly changing.

How did you come to work with Arty Geek?

In the beginning, we were working with some freelancers, who typically have their own boundaries and issues; they can become unavailable without notice and so on. We asked a few friends if they knew of a company that could provide a good service. My partner's friend told him about Arty Geek, and we contacted them. It was the fourth company we'd used, but we stuck with Arty Geek. They are amazing.

How much have you invested with Arty Geek?

The cost of Arty Geek's work has been around $2,000.

What is the status of this engagement?

We started working with Arty Geek one year ago. The relationship is ongoing on a maintenance basis. We give Arty Geek's team batches of work regularly, and we talk on a daily basis.

RESULTS & FEEDBACK: 

Could you share any evidence that would demonstrate the productivity, quality of work, or the impact of the engagement?

Arty Geek strictly developed our website, so they haven't been involved in any analytics for it. Since I am the designer and I'm also responsible for user testing, its success will depend on me. Arty Geek completed the job on an amazing level, but we've just started marketing the site.

How did Arty Geek perform from a project management standpoint?

Arty Geek is the best company we've found in terms of project management. I worked directly with their manager, who was available most of the time and was always responsive and communicative. Arty Geek's approach gave me peace of mind.

What did you find most impressive about Arty Geek?

We have no boundaries in terms of communication with Arty Geek's team. This is an extremely important aspect for me, given my past with freelancers.

We don't have the most complex platform on the market, but I still appreciated never being hindered by Arty Geek's team in terms of design. I have no limits in this respect: I can design whatever I want, and Arty Geek will make it happen.

Are there any areas Arty Geek could improve?

No. Arty Geek is very good at what it does. The team delivered things on time and has been professional and nice to communicate with.

OVERALL SCORE: 5
QUALITY: 5
Arty Geek thinks out of the box and considers things that don’t occur to me. This in itself is amazing, given that most other developers, especially freelancers, will only do what they're told to do without asking questions or expanding on an idea.
COST: 5
The cost is perfect for us as a self-financing startup company. I would pay Arty Geek more if I had more, but our situation prevents it. I could also find a developer for $5 per hour, but the package provided by Arty Geek makes it worth it.
SCHEDULING: 5
Anytime we needed our project manager, she answered within the hour, most of the time within minutes.
WILLING TO REFER: 5