Different hosting platforms to suit every need

Made for

companies looking for high-performance web and cloud hosting.  

Not for

 those looking for windows server options.

 
Monthly Contract
 
$80 - $240 / mo
Pricing details

Features

Features

Options:
  •  SSD
  •  SSL Certificates
  •  API controls
  •  Backups
Apps:
  •  WordPress
  •  Drupal
  •  Joomla
  •  Magento

Performance

  •  SLA
  • Guaranteed Uptime: 99.9%
  • Provisioning time: Instant
Free Support:
  •  Phone
  •  Chat
  •  Guides

Pricing

Basic info

 
Monthly Contract
 
$80 - $240 / mo
 
Monthly subscription
Pricing Plans
EntryBusinessBusiness PlusSuper Power
Monthly price$80.00$120.00$160.00 $240.00
CPU Cores2348
Memory4 GB6 GB8 GB10 GB
SSD Space40 GB60 GB80 GB120 GB
Data Transfer5 TB5 TB5 TB5 TB

Reviews

Sort by
 
Client Interview
Jan 22 2018

Hosting for Web Developer

1.0

Features: 
2.0
Ease of use: 
4.0
Support: 
1.0
Willing to refer: 
1.0
the reviewer
 
$0 - $50/mo. spend
 
Marketing and Advertising
 
1-10 Employees
 
Malaysia
E-Commerce Manager, Malaysia Marketing
Amir Shahedi
1
 
Verified
The Review
Recommendations

SiteGround provided hosting for three websites. After a smooth 30-day initial period, the websites began to consistently glitch and slow down, which ultimately led to a harsh loss of customers and a vast drop in rankings. Overall, their customer service was subpar and they failed to fix the issues.

Background

Introduce your business and what you do there.

I’m the e-commerce manager for a company that does website development and e-commerce. I also have two of my own hosting accounts on the side. Overall, I manage the website, hosting, SEO [search engine optimization], and other things online.

What was the business challenge your company was facing that initiated the need for this platform?

I had problems with a previous hosting company and tried to transfer to SiteGround for better speed and performance.

Solution

How does your company implement this platform or software?

I had been working with SiteGround for two-and-a-half months and had three different websites hosted by them. In the first month, everything was great. After 30 days, my website stopped working or got very slow every day. I asked them what was happening and they said that the site had a lot of CPU usage, although I hadn’t changed anything on my websites.

I told them that I didn’t have the problem in the first 30 days and they responded by saying that because my account was over 30 days old, they couldn’t issue a refund and cancel the hosting. I couldn’t run my website that way, so I left and transferred the sites to another server.

I spent a lot of time chatting with their support and there were more than 10 tickets issues. Every time they told me the problem was fixed, something else popped up two days later. They went over the problems they were experiencing with the e-commerce side step by step, but ultimately, I decided to stop and asked them to refund my money for the three different accounts I had. Unfortunately, that was impossible.

What type of client is an ideal candidate? Who should possibly avoid these platforms?

All real businesses that have professional websites and online customers should avoid this service.

What cost factors should clients keep in mind when considering this tool?

There are no extra costs. However, they do encourage you to upgrade your plan and pay more but the trouble still remains.

Was your company considering other platforms? Why this platform?

Unfortunately, most hosting review websites—including Clutch—recommends SiteGround as one of the best worldwide hosting providers. I also found their advertising on Instagram, Facebook, and on other websites. They claim that they’re the best for WordPress and WooCommerce.

On an annual or monthly basis, how much does your company spend to utilize the platform?

We spent $11.95 per month per website.

Results

Can you share any success, metrics, or overall results of your implementation of this platform?

Their online support and their marketing are good but their service is really bad. I was on the first page of Google for eight years and now I’m on page three. Also, my customers stopped working with me because the website wasn’t working. They’ll only come back if I repair the site.

Overall, my small business has been 100% affected. SiteGround managed to destroy it in only three months.

Features

Were there any software features/tools that you were really impressed by?

No. They said that they have excellent cache but it’s not working.

Looking back, are there any areas of the software that you feel could be added or improved upon?

I’m a web developer and I’ve worked in this business for more than 12 years. I’ve had more than eight personal websites and have my own server. However, I’ve had nothing but problems with all three sites I hosted on SiteGround.

I’ve told everyone I know to not buy from them because they will steal your money and time. I even put a banner on all my websites that says “Don’t buy from SiteGround”. I would definitely not recommend them to anybody.

I ended up finding another server that was more expensive, but it didn’t present these problems and their customer service is good.

Have you had to interact with the platform’s support team or reference their support resources?

I had a lot of contact with the support team via chat. I created several tickets and only some were answered by an actual person. I also repeatedly asked for their manger’s email but they’d always say that it was impossible to give. On one occasion, they told me that the IP had to load within the system, and on another, they said that it was an app problem. All in all, they dug around a lot but couldn’t find the problem nor solve it.

So my website would glitch every day and eventually, a Google webmaster blocked it for not working. I’d get in touch with SiteGround to tell them that it wasn’t my site’s fault, but after two hours, it would stop working again.  

Company Response: 

We were sorry to hear about your experience. 
We checked on your case and we can see that our techs have analyzed your account and identified that it was using an excessive amount of server resources. Via our Helpdesk system, they provided you with stats on some functionalities related to the internal operation of the website theme and plugins that were generating the biggest load on the server. They have identified the processes causing excessive usage and suggested tips how to optimize them. Please note that when you reported the issues we have increased the number of resources on the account to allow you to make the needed changes to manage better these processes.
 

Even though you are using our most powerful shared hosting solution, your account still shares server resources with other users. For this reason, we have an automatic system for server monitoring to prevent excessive usage of 1 user from negatively affecting the performance of other websites on the same server. 



Our team is available 24/7 via official support channel to assist you further.

Regards,

SiteGround Team

1.0
Overall Score
  • 2.0 Features
  • 4.0 Ease of Use
  • 1.0 Support
  • 1.0 Willing to Refer
 
Survey Response
May 17 2016

No Downtime with SiteGround

5.0

Features: 
5.0
Ease of use: 
5.0
Support: 
5.0
Willing to refer: 
5.0
the reviewer
 
$1,001 - $10,000/yr. spend
 
Retail
 
2 - 10 employees
 
Fort Wayne, IN
Owner
1
The Review

Recommendations:

I would recommend SiteGround worth an A+ rating to anyone who would ask.

Experience:

A friend recommended it to me, and the price was perfect and customer service was excellent, knowledgeable and helpful. We use hosting, email, CPanel and back up services. We have not had any downtime and when issues do arise, tech support has it fixed in minutes. We are able to offer our customers a website that is reliable and fast.

Pros:

Customer service/tech support is the best I’ve ever seen.

Cons:

I can't complain much but I would suggest better client email services - have small issues receiving items every now and then.